Ross Gay

(1974 - Present)

Ross Gay is the author of four books of poetry: Against Which; Bringing the Shovel Down; Be Holding, winner of the PEN American Literary Jean Stein Award; and Catalog of Unabashed Gratitude, winner of the 2015 National Book Critics Circle Award and the 2016 Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award.

In addition to his poetry, Ross has released three collections of essays—The Book of Delights was released in 2019 and was a New York Times bestseller, Inciting Joy was released in 2022, and his newest collection, The Book of (More) Delights, was released in September of 2023.


More Ross Gay

Text: "Letters from Two Gardens," a poetic correspondence between Gay and Aimee Nezhukumatathil, in Orion

Video: Gay on "Tending Joy and Practicing Delight" for The On Being Project

Text: Gay's poem "Throwing Children" on Poem-a-Day


Photo by Natasha Komoda.